Thursday, 5 February 2009

Bhutan : His Majesty appoints chairperson and members of RCSC

February 3: His Majesty the King has appointed the chairperson and members of the Royal Civil Service Commission (RCSC). The appointment is as per article 2 section 19 (g) and article 26 section 2 of the constitution. Article 2 section 19 (g) states that the Druk Gyalpo shall, by warrant under his hand and seal, appoint the Chairperson and members of the RCSC in accordance with section 2 of Article 26.

Article 26 section 2 states that the Commission shall consist of a Chairperson and four other members appointed by the Druk Gyalpo from among eminent persons having such qualifications and experience as would enhance the performance of the Commission, from a list of names recommended jointly by the Prime Minister, the Chief Justice of Bhutan, the Speaker, the Chairperson of the National Council and the Leader of the Opposition Party.

The former education minister Thinley Gyamtsho is the new chairperson. The four members are the Managing Director of Druk Seed Corporation Prithiman Pradhan, the Chief Human Resource Officer of RCSC Secretariat Kinley Yangzom, the Chief Planning Officer of RCSC secretariat Bachu Phub Dorji and the Samtse Dzongda Sangay Dorji.

The appointments come into effect immediately.

No comments: