Wednesday, 26 March 2008

National Assembly election results declared

March 25: Druk Phuensusm Tshogpa has won the country’s first National Assembly election with a landslide victory. The party won 44 of the 47 seats in the National Assembly. The People’s Democratic Party won three seats.

The Election Commission formally declared the results of the National Assembly election at a press conference this morning. Druk Phuensum Tshogpa having won the majority of the seats in the National Assembly, 44 of the 47 seats, was declared the ruling party. The People’s Democratic Party has won three seats. It was declared the opposition party.

The Chief Election Commissioner Dasho Kunzang Wangdi said except for a few minor lapses and problems, the National Assembly election went smoothly. He said more than 79 percent of the voters turned up to take part in the country’s first National Assembly election. 253,012 voters turned up to exercise their franchise. Of that 17,119 voted by using postal ballots.

Dasho Kunzang Wangdi also read out the names of the 47 candidates who have been elected as members of the National Assembly. The Chief Election Commissioner attributed the success of the parliamentary election to the voters who turned out in large numbers to vote and the hard work of election officials, security personnel, and presiding and polling officers.

Dasho Kunzang Wangdi offered gratitude to His Majesty the Fourth Druk Gyalpo for His Majesty’s visionary leadership and the precious gift of democracy and His Majesty Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck for being a constant source of inspiration and motivation and His Holiness the Je Khenpo and the monastic body for their prayers and blessings for the success of the election.

The Chief Election Commissioner also expressed his gratitude to the Indian Government for providing electronic voting machines, helicopter service to airlift election officials and materials to Lunana and ensuring security along the border.

The National Assembly election was observed by 52 National Observers and 42 International Observers. 124 media personnel from 71 international broadcast and print media agencies covered the election.

The government of India has congratulated the Royal Government of Bhutan on the successful conduct of the National Assembly election yesterday.

In a news release, the government of India described yesterday’s election as a great moment in Bhutan’s history. It says His Majesty’s personal guidance, meticulous planning and constant support through out the election process have contributed to the success of the election.

It also attributed the success of the election to the determination of the people of Bhutan to fulfill His Majesty’s vision of Bhutan’s transition to a constitutional democratic monarchy.

The news release says the government of India remains committed to providing all possible assistance to the Royal Government of Bhutan during its period of transition.

No comments: